EWA Timeline

There are 5 main, key stages in the EWA process. Make sure you take care in each stage to hit the criteria necessary. Obtaining an EWA temporary card gives you a maximum of 18 months to complete the assessment, before expiring. Completing all stages allows a candidate to build their portfolio and prove that they have the competency to hold and obtain a ECS Gold Card. The five main stages are:

  1. EWA Application
  2. Registration
  3. ECS Testing
  4. Assessment Stage
  5. Interview Stage

The Five Stages

  1. EWA Application

    The first stage is to complete your online EWA application. You will need to provide the following information:

    • Personal information
    • Industry experience and/or qualifications
    • Name and contact details of sponsor

    A member of the EWA team will review your completed online application form.

  2. Registration

    This stage is after your successful application, you will be able to register for the programme. You will be emailed a link to our online EWA portal which you will use throughout your programme.

    You will be provided further Information, Advice and Guidance and be able to check if this is the right option for you. You will then be asked to submit a passport style photograph and your National Insurance Number.

  3. ECS Testing

    After completing and registering for the EWA, you will receive an email confirming your ECS Health Safety and Environmental Awareness test and ECS Battery test.

    Please ensure you follow the instructions carefully; you could fail the test if you don’t.

    • ECS Health Safety and Environmental Awareness test (30 minutes) – You must achieve a pass mark of 86% (43 out of 50 questions).
    • ECS Battery test (90 minutes) – You must achieve an overall pass mark of 60% (84 out of 140 questions) over the 14 sections. Upon completion you will receive a gap analysis on the areas you need to improve on.
  4. Assessment Stage

    There are 3 assessments that you are required to complete, covering the 15 duties, to be uploaded to the EWA portal. This can be done via the Skills Assessments, supported by Witness Testimonies. This must all be your own work and verified by your employer/sponsor. Each assessment will be reviewed and evaluated by a qualified assessor, to ensure a fair an accurate assessment process. Resubmissions are also possible.

  5. Interview Stage

    You will be invited to attend an online interview with a industry technical expert to demonstrate your knowledge, skills and competency. After completion of the interview, and sign off from the technical expert, you will be awarded your ECS Gold Card.

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from - Youtube
Consent to display content from - Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from - Google